Uncategorized

New Year, New Stuffs.

Add heading (1)

“For last year’s words belong to last year’s language
And next year’s words await another voice.
And to make an end is to make a beginning.”
– T.S. Eliot

It’s not uncommon for people to desperately try to shake off the remnants of the year as the promise of a new year and a new start gets closer. I was more than ready for 2014 to end. 2014 was the year I both had to move and search for a new job – two activities which turn me into a creature nobody likes and The Hulk would sulk away from.

I had big plans for 2015. Big, big plans. I was going to go to the gym a reasonable three times a week, I was going to finally end my relationship with chocolate, and I was either going to get a promotion at work or I was going to look for a better job.

Thankfully, because job hunting sucks the life-blood out of me faster than most anything, I got my promotion… and I celebrated with chocolate. I did go to the gym three days a week for about four months, and then I got confused and broke up with the gym and my mouth made sweet, sweet love to a brownie. Whoops. But, something amazing happened: 2015 didn’t suck.

I’m not finding myself counting down the days until a new year begins so I can fill the first few weeks with promises to myself I won’t likely keep. In fact, I find myself sitting here thinking about all the amazing things I hope I never forget about this year. 2015 was the year I rediscovered something I loved – writing – and I wrote my first full-length novel. 2015 was the year I fell in love with my 9-5 job; yes, it was a good year.

So what are my goals for 2016? I’m not going down the rabbit hole with the gym again. Instead, I hope to go hiking more. I want to read more. I definitely want to write more but, more importantly, I want to write better… so I want to become even more active in my creative writer’s group, and maybe I’ll even look into some writing classes.

I hope you have good memories of 2015, and I hope you have a spectacular, creative, productive, successful new year. What are some of your goals for the new year? Do you have any writing-specific goals?

Speaking of writing – I mentioned I plan on reading more in 2015, and to elaborate on that a little bit, I intend on making a large percentage of the books I read to be from indie/new authors. So, if you have a book out on the interwebs share it in the comments! I look forward to spending 2016 with you!

Leave a Reply

