Uncategorized

Sh*t Just Got Real

Oh, look! (5)“If you have a dream, don’t just sit there. Gather courage to believe that
you can succeed and leave no stone unturned to make it a reality.”
-Roopleen

I took a poll of everyone in the room with me currently, and the consensus was to give the good news first. Quick shoutout to me for helping myself figure that one out. 😉

The GOOD:

Have you ever been to a play? You have the Playbill, you have an idea of what is going to happen on stage, but the curtain is still down. For all intents and purposes, it’s still just a blank slate. Your seat has already gotten a little uncomfortable. The lights dim and you focus on the stage…

That is pretty much how writing and editing have felt for me so far. Of course, the Playbill has developed into the novel, so I know how it acts out, but I don’t know how it’ll perform – the curtain is still down. I can say with all certainty, my seat is more than a little uncomfortable.

But the next little action in the production happened recently and it is both terrifying and exhilarating. For such a small, seemingly insignificant development it has had me reeling. I can liken it to seeing the twitch in the velvet just before it lifts.

I bought my ISBN! It sure is a pricey thirteen digit number, but it’s mine!

It also means, as someone who doesn’t enjoy wasting money, I have no choice but to put my little word baby out into the world and see if it’ll fly or go the way of The Titanic.

The BADish:

I haven’t written a blog post in forever it seems. Not only did buying the ISBN light a fire under my ass to work harder on my novel, but I’ve been prepping for a class I applied for that is my only chance at advancing further in my job – I completed the first part of that class today and passed with flying, sparkly, glittery colors! Yay me! The promotion will give me more money, and believe it or not, more free time. So I can really support my writing habit.

Unfortunately, starting in April, I will be tied up with this class for eight weeks, and between my time will be consumed with [hopefully] perfecting my book, so my blog posts may stay fairly sparse for a little while.

I thank you from the very bottom of my heart for your patience and support! You’re all amazing!

Leave a Reply

