Uncategorized

20 Things About Me

20 Things About Me
“Stop trying to be less of who you are. Let this time in your life cut you open and

drain all of the things that are holding you back.”
-Jennifer Elisabeth


I was just tagged by the beautiful and talented Mollie (you can find her amazing blog here) to list twenty facts ab0ut myself. I am not going to include my various British obsessions or anything that has to do with my current writing endeavors. I’ll do my best to be interesting!

1.| I’m allergic to bacon. Okay, so technically I am allergic to sodium nitrate, but if I tell that to pretty much anyone, they have no idea what I’m talking about so I tend to just list a few things like bacon, ham, pepperoni, etc. Then I’m met with lots of pity. Then I’m always asked if I am a vegetarian. I only shell out the dough for nitrate-free varieties on occasion because that sh*t’s expensive. (Extra bit: I nearly died from a hotdog when I was in kindergarten.)

2.| I used to speak competitively. From giving speeches to extemporaneous speaking. I once went to a speech competition and had little more than fumes in my gas tank and not a dime to my name and won enough money to get me through to my next paycheck.

3.| I was in The World Trade Center exactly six months before 9/11/2001 and said to a friend it would “be really bad if there were an earthquake or something” that took the building down.

4.| I was once sent to the principal’s office for doing drugs in class. The drug? Tums. Could’ve been Rolaids, but I’m pretty sure it was Tums. The principal laughed.

5.| I don’t like pizza. I know, let the hating begin. And I don’t like chicken wings, either.

6.| I love antique furniture. I have three large pieces that are family heirlooms from early to mid-1800’s, and I am not looking forward to the day they fall apart.

7.| I have planned a Disney World vacation almost every year since I entered adulthood because my parents could never afford to take me… and apparently I am repeating their tradition, because I have still never been.

8.| I stole a pack of chewing gum when I was about four years old. I asked my mom if she wanted a piece when we got in the car… so obviously I was caught. The store manager didn’t have the heart to be mad and against my mother’s wishes, he bought it for me.

9.| When I was 17, I was accidentally an arsonist. A friend of mine had claimed an old barn on her dad’s property as her own and was showing it to me and a few others, and we lit candles and missed one when we were putting them out. That sucker went down to the ground, and try as they might to prove it was drug related – it really wasn’t.

10.| I like my dark chocolate around 72-78%. I like my white chocolate not to exist.

11.| I used to ride horses all the time until a horrific accident with yellow jackets. I was stung countless times including on my eye, which swelled to the size of a tennis ball and required heavy rounds of steroids. I would love to ride again.

12.| I’m from The South, but I rarely ever drink sweet tea (I prefer mine hot), and I can’t remember the last time I had fried chicken.

13.| I once hired someone who had typed “I am Batman.” on the bottom of their resume.

14.| I can play the French horn and the trumpet.

15.| As a teenager I wrote three poems that were published in two different volumes of poetry. They were written during a particularly dark time in my life – and not the typical dark times of a teenager – and I’ve never been able to replicate the feeling that went into them, so poetry is not something I write often anymore. Unfortunately, I cannot disclose the poems, as they were published under my real name.

16.| I’m one of, if not the, last in my group of friends who doesn’t have children.

17.| I used to be on a jump rope squad called “The Ropesters.”

18.| When I was about 10, I was sure I wanted to be a journalist. I went to a summer camp held by a newspaper and loved every minute of it.

19.| I love gardening and growing food. I hope to have my own hobby farm or homestead some day.

20.| I was the envy of all the girls my 8th-grade year because I met Bryan Datillo and had a picture of him kissing my cheek.

Crikey! Coming up with twenty things was more challenging than I expected. Thanks for stopping by and please check out my A-Z Series!

5 thoughts on “20 Things About Me”

  1. Hold on. So, you went to the principal’s office because you had Tom’s drugs? I hope Tom’s paid you, since then.
    Joke aside, I may go pasta-l (or is it postal?) with your statement on pizza. I respect that courage, seriously.

    In ut-all (if not utmost) seriousness, I would like to thank you for this post. It allowed me to have a better grasp on who you are, outside of the twittering sphere. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “I like my dark chocolate around 72-78%. I like my white chocolate not to exist.” If this isn’t a tweet… what the hell are you waiting for?!

    Like

  3. “I don’t like pizza. I know, let the hating begin. And I don’t like chicken wings, either.”

    I understand the not liking chicken wings because the meat to bone ratio is not great, but they are sooo gooood….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

