Uncategorized

A-Z Series: Week G

G“A story has no beginning or end: arbitrarily one chooses that moment of
experience from which to look back or from which to look ahead.”
Graham Greene


Word of the Week: Grandisonant means something sounds pompous. Someone might talk with a grandisonant vocabulary (which one could argue the word grandisonant in itself matches its definition!) or perhaps it might describe the music in a restaurant.


Tip of the Week: Genres! I suppose it goes without saying, but I’ll say it again anyway: There are differing opinions on what I’m going to say about genres—but that’s not going to stop me.

If you’re writing as a hobby, then genre may not matter to you as much. You get an idea, you write until your writer’s heart is contented and make no apologies for it. But, if you’re writing with the intention of selling your work, then your genre is probably very important to you. This is how your readers are going to find you initially. As much as I would love to think there are hordes of people out there just itching to search Amazon for my book, that is just not how it works. People will search for their favorite genre and hopefully, if I’m very lucky (and I’ve done a decent job of marketing), they will find me someday.

I hear you. “But, Aila… my book’s got love in it, it’s a romance novel, right?”

Maybe. Maybe not. My book Sex, Love & Technicalities has a very romantic story in it, but that’s not really the point of the novel. It’s about a woman who is facing turning thirty and realizing she’s not very happy in her life and at the same time her restaurant burns down, someone has died, and her past is coming back to complicate things even further. There are a couple of subplots, like dealing with family health issues and a stifling mother/daughter relationship. Sure, my main character falls in love and has a love life… but I wouldn’t call it a romance novel. It’s women’s fiction.

So don’t take the time to write an entire novel just to slap on the first genre tag that comes to mind. Are you writing a fantasy novel? or are you writing a post-apocalyptic steampunk fantasy novel? Is it sci-fi, or perhaps historical science fiction?

Click here to read up on the astounding number of literary genres.


Resource of the Week: Grammar Girl. I don’t know of a single writer who isn’t in need of help with their grammar, at least occasionally. Have you checked out Grammar Girl? If you’re looking for help from someone with stellar references, this woman has plenty. Her advice is easy to read and comprehend… and she’s just simply fun! I wanted to share a video from her YouTube collection, and I chose this one specifically. Why? Because in SL&T my main character gets annoyed at the whole “espresso” vs. “expresso” pronunciation debate, also the video was posted on my birthday which apparently happens to be National Coffee Day, and that just makes me very happy.

Catch her on Twitter, too!


Spotlight of the Week: Lo-arna Green!
Loarna

Lo-arna is an Australian author who believes in happily ever after (most of the time) and some of the time participates in reality.

|Twitter| |Website|  |Facebook|

Lo-arna was very generous and answered our questions for today. If you don’t already know her, she’s a delight!

1.) In which genre do you predominately write? What interests you in it particularly?

Mainly romance. I like to add extra flavours in though so it’s not just that same old formula. My first novel had mystery as an added element and the second went into Domestic Violence and the effects of abuse.

2.) What is your biggest motivator?

I spend a lot of time procrastinating but when that idea begins to burn up, nothing gets in my way.

3.) What has been your biggest challenge in the entire writing process and what advice would you give others to make it easier for them?

Quite honestly, exposure. I am a needle in a haystack. Come find me people, hello! *waves frantically* Advice? Write from the heart, don’t give up and just be fully aware your writing won’t be for everyone, but for some, it will make them cry, laugh and they may take away something from your writing and apply it to their own lives.

4.) Would you rather have dinner with Shakespeare, Hemingway, Twain or Asimov? What would you say to them?

Shakespeare. I don’t know what I would say though. I would struggle to form words. Maybe I could write something down on post-it notes.

5.) What’s a little-known fact about you? Explain or elaborate. (Special talents, non-writing hobbies, etc.)

I know when people are lying and it is super awkward.


As always, thank you for stopping by! See you next week, writers!

2 thoughts on “A-Z Series: Week G”

Leave a Reply

