Uncategorized

A graphic love affair.

It is good to love many things, for therein lies the true strength, and
whosoever loves much performs much, and can
accomplish much, and what is done in love is well done.
Vincent van Gogh

Take a cold bath, buddy. I’m not talking about a scandalous affair with x-rated photographs. I’m talking about my obsession fascination with Canva.

It is important for me to note that I am not affiliated with Canva in any way, other than an avid user, and this review is not sponsored. [Why would it be? I have about three followers thus far…] These thoughts and opinions are all my own.

CUPCAKE

If you haven’t yet heard of Canva, I am excited to introduce it to you. Canva is a powerful online tool that can generate amazing graphics to use pretty much anywhere and for any reason. When you first visit their website you’ll find they’ve already done a lot of the work for you and have several size options to choose from: Facebook and twitter graphics sized perfectly, resumes, menu covers, Pinterest posts… even Kindle covers! Of course, if you can’t find what you’re looking for, you can always generate a graphic of any size you wish with custom dimensions.

Here are three of my favorite things about Canva:

One million+ images! Once you’re designing your graphic, you’ll find a near-endless library of images to choose from (or you can upload your own). What I find fabulous about Canva is there is no deciphering how much an image is going to cost you – they’re all $1.00 each. ONE DOLLAR. Wait. Sorry, that’s a lie. There are a ton of free images as well, dispersed within the $1.00 images.

Whether you want to use one of the super-sexy templates they’re kind enough to provide for you, or you want to go it alone, Canva makes it easy-peasy-lemon-squeasy.

They understand the compulsive need to edit, edit, edit! So, you’ve made your graphic. *cue applause* You download it, and after staring at it for thirty minutes, examining every pixel (what, I can’t be the only one who does that…), you decide your font choice could’ve been better. You’re desperate to edit it. But, you don’t really want to pay another $5 for the pay-images you’ve used… Never fear! You get 24 hours to play around with your graphic before you have to pay for those images again. This comes in very handy for OCD individuals… or so I’m told. 😉

Design school! Don’t feel comfortable? Canva has design tutorials, thirty to be exact, to turn any novice into a graphic-designing guru. These tutorials take you through color choices, font usage, etc… but beyond those tutorials Canva is ready to teach you how to garner more engagement on twitter using graphics, beefing up your blog headers, and more. Do not, do not, miss out on their design school blog.

As with pretty much everything in life, Canva is not without flaw. There are a few things I would like to see improved, but nothing so serious I would ever consider abandoning them. I should also point out that most of what I’m about to list has been addressed with Canva’s paid subscription service: Canva for Work. I have not yet used this service, but I do plan on starting the free trial in the near future and I’ll do a whole other post on that when I do. But without further adieu, the [slight] problems with Canva:

Searching for images could be better. Right now you search by keyword only. I would love to see more search functions like landscape vs. portrait. I am fairly positive we won’t see a search filter for free vs. paid images because they want you to see and fall in love with the $1.00 images, and I’m fine with that. But landscape vs. portrait seems like an easy enough filter they could allow. I also wish when I change my search’s keyword, the previous keyword and its results didn’t muddy up my screen.

There is no app to use on-the-go. I understand that there is one in the works that will be compatible with Canva for Work, but I would like to be able to work on my various images whenever the mood so strikes.

Images are abundant… fonts, not so much. Don’t get me wrong, there are many fonts available on Canva. (As well as several awesome ‘wordart’ templates – all free!) But, I must admit, I still find the font choices a little lacking. To be fair, I am kind of a typeface nerd and this may not be a problem for everyone. On top of the choices, however, is the rather annoying fact you don’t have freedom to size your fonts to any size. I still don’t understand why they restrict the sizes. Now, in Canva for Work you can upload your own fonts; I am not sure about the freedom of sizing, though. (I asked my husband for his take on the sizing thing, and he doesn’t seem bothered by it like I am. He said something about rendering, and then I sort of stopped listening because I was still trying to figure out why it would matter.)

With all that said, I am as in love with Canva as I can be with a website. I have played around with all kinds of design websites, and it is my favorite by far. I use Canva for all of the images I create, which can be seen on this blog as well as my Twitter page. Have you used Canva before? What did you design? I would love to see your favorite work of art you’ve created!

2 thoughts on “A graphic love affair.”

  1. It’s awesome. I created my e-book covers with Canva and they only cost me $1.00 each. Now, I know they aren’t technically professional, but they are leaps and bounds better than some of the homemade e-book covers I’ve seen, and while I’m technically still “testing the waters” with writing/publishing, I couldn’t see spending hundreds of dollars on a cover. I take it seriously, but I’m trying to be very frugal.

    Like

Leave a Reply

